RESOLUTION THANKING THE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA FOR HOSTING THE PAN-AFRICAN PARLIAMENT

(PAP-Res 001/04)

The Pan-African Parliament,

- 1. In terms of the Article 16 of the Protocol, the seat of the Pan-African Parliament shall be determined by the Assembly and shall be located in the territory of a State party to this Protocol:
- 2. **NOTING** the decision of the Assembly of the Heads of State (Assembly/AU/Dec.39(III)) held 6-8 July, 2004, in Addis Ababa, to award the Republic of South Africa the seat of the Pan-African Parliament;
- 3. **FURTHER** noting the Host Country Agreement concluded between the African Union and the Republic of the South Africa on 16 September 2004;
- 4. **CONVEYS** our gratitude to H.E. Thabo Mbeki, the President of the Republic of South Africa, the government and the peoples of the Republic of South Africa;
- 5. **CONGRATULATES** the Government of the Republic of South Africa for accepting the honour and responsibility of hosting one of the important Organs of the African Union;
- 6. **COMMENDS** the People and the Government of the Republic of South Africa for the support and cooperation already shown during the Second Session as a clear indication of South Africa's commitment to support efforts of establishing a strong Pan-African Parliament as a democratic institution.