SUPPLEMENTARY ACT A/SA.10/01/07 RELATING TO THE ADOPTION OF SELECTION CRITERIA FOR DETERMINING MEMBERSHIP OF ECOWAS MEMBER STATES ON THE AFRICAN UNION PEACE AND SECURITY COUNCIL

THE HIGH CONTRACTING PARTIES,

MINDFUL of Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended in June establishing the Authority of Heads of States and Government and defining its composition and function;

MINDFUL of Articles 41 and 52 of the ECOWAS Protocol relating to the Mechanism on Conflict Prevention Management Resolution Peacekeeping and Security of 1999 which mandates ECOWAS cooperation with other International Organizations and with the African Union Mechanism for Conflict Prevention, Management and Resolution;

RECOGNIZING the primary responsibility of the African Union for the maintenance of peace and security within the African Continent;

CONSIDERING the Protocol establishing the African Union Peace and Security Council adopted in Durban, South Africa on 9th July 2002;

HAVING noted that four (4) seats has been allocated to the West African Sub-Region by the African Union on its Peace and Security Council;

MINDFUL of the need to ensure ECOWAS membership on the African Union Peace and Security Council thereby ensuring West African involvement in the decision-making process at the level of that Council;

DESIROUS therefore of adopting a formula to be applied in determining ECOWAS membership on the African Union Peace and Security Council;

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the meeting of the Mediation and Security Council which held in Ouagadougou on 20th December 2006.

AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

The selection criteria for determining membership of ECOWAS Member States on the African Union Peace and Security Council to encumber the four (4) Seats allocated to West Africa is hereby adopted as follows:

- Appointment of the Member State holding the chairmanship of ECOWAS in the year when appointment is due;
- Appointment of two (2) other Member States on a rotational basis in alphabetical order for the seats reserved for ECOWAS within the Council;
- Appointment of Nigeria to occupy the fourth seat on a permanent basis;
- re-enlisting, at the bottom of the list during the selection process, Member States that have already occupied seats.

ARTICLE 2

This selection criteria shall be applied by the Mediation and Security Council at the Ministerial level, in determining ECOWAS representation at the African Union Peace and Security Council.

ARTICLE 3

This Supplementary Act shall be published by the Commission in the Official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days of its signature by the Chairman of Authority. It shall also be published by each Member State in its National Gazette within the same time frame.

ARTICLE 4

- This Supplementary Act shall enter into force upon its publication. Consequently, signatory States and ECOWAS Institutions pledge to commence the implementation of its provisions on its entry into force.
- This Supplementary Act is annexed to the ECOWAS Treaty of which it is an integral part.

ARTICLE 5

This Supplementary Act shall be deposited with the Commission which shall transmit certified true copies thereof to all the Member States and shall register it with the African Union, the United Nations and such other organisations as Council may determine.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, WE, THE HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES, HAVE SIGNED THIS SUPPLEMENTARY ACT

DONE AT OUAGADOUGOU, THIS 19TH DAY OF JANUARY 2007

IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN THE ENGLISH, FRENCH AND PORTUGUESE LANGUAGES, ALL THREE (3) TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.

His Excellency Thomas Boni Yayi
President of the Republic of Benin

His Excellency Blaise Compaore
Chairman of the Council of Ministers
President of the Faso

President of the Republic of Cabo Verde

His Excellency Laurent Gbagbo
President of the Republic of Cote D'Ivoire

President of the Republic of The Gambia

His Excellency John A. Kufuor President of the Republic of Ghana

Hon. Sidibe Fatoumata KABA
Minister of International Cooperation
For and on behalf of the President
of the Republic of Guinea

His Excellency Joao Bernardo Vieira
President of the Republic of Guinea Bissau

Her Excellency Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
President of the Republic of Liberia

His Excellency Toumani Toure
President of the Republic of Mali

His Excellency Mamadou Tandja President of the Republic of Niger His Excellency Olusegun Obasanjo
President, Commander in Chief of the Armed
Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

His Excelled Cy Abdoulaye Wade President of the Republic of Senegal Hon. Mohammed Daramy
Minister of Development and Economic
Planning, for and on behalf of the President
of the Republic of Sierra Leone

His Excellency Faure Essozimna Gnassingbe President of the Togolese Republic