SUPPLEMENTARY ACT A/SAZ/06/07 ALLOCATING THE POSTS OF DIRECTOR-GENERAL AND DEPUTY DIRECTOR-GENERAL OF THE WEST AFRICAN HEALTH ORGANIZATION (WAHO) TO MEMBER STATES

THE HIGH CONTRACTING PARTIES.

MINDFUL of Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended, establishing the Authority of Heads of State and Government and defining its composition and functions:

MINDFUL of Protocol A/P.2/7/87 of 9 July 1987 on the establishment of a West African Health Organisation (WAHO);

MINDFUL of Article IX of the Protocol relating to the post of Director-General of WAHO:

MINDFUL of Article 18 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended by Supplementary Protocol A/SP,1/06/06 of 14 June 2006 and relating to the appointment of Statutory Appointees of the Community Institutions:

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.3/12/99 of 10 December 1999 allocating the post of Director-General of the West African Health Organisation to the Republic of the Gambia;

MINDFUL of Regulation C/REG.8/07/04 of 17 July 2004 renewing the terms of office of the Director-General and the Deputy Director-General of the West African Health Organisation (WAHO);

CONSIDERING that the second term of office of Dr. Kaba T, Joiner and that of Professor Moussa Adama, Director-General and Deputy Director-General of WAHO, expire on 24 February 2008 and 1st March 2008 respectively:

CONSIDERING the need to immediately set in motion the procedure leading to the appointment of the successors of Dr. Kaba T. Joiner and Professor Moussa Adama Maiga to the management of the West African Health Organisation, with a view to avoiding a vacuum at the end of their tenures and to ensure continuity in the administration and management of this Institution, as well as effective implementation of its programs;

WISHING, therefore to allocate the post of Director-General of the West African Health Organisation and that of Deputy-General of this Institution to Member States;

AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The post of Director-General of the West African Health Organisation is hereby allocated to the Republic of Guinea Bissau.

Article 2

The post of Deputy Director-General of the West African Health Organisation is hereby allocated to the Republic of Liberia.

Article 3

The posts referred to in Articles 1 and 2 of this Supplementary Act shall be allocated to the Member States concerned for a non-renewable period of four (4) years with effect from the date of assumption of office by the persons appointed to these posts

Article 4

The Director-General and the Deputy Director-General of the West African Health Organisation (WAHO) shall be selected and appointed from the Member States to which the positions have been allocated, in accordance with the relevant ECOWAS procedures:

Article 5

This Supplementary Act shall be published in the Official Journal of the Community by the ECOWAS Commission within thirty (30) days of its signalure It shall also be published within the same time frame in the National Gazette of each Member State

Article 6

- This Supplementary Act shall enter into force upon publication. Consequently, signatory Member States and the ECOWAS Institutions undertake to start implementing its provisions upon its entry into force.
- This Supplementary Act is attached as an Annex to the ECOWAS Treaty of which it is an integral part;

Article 7

This Supplementary Act shall be deposited with the Commission which shall transmit certified copies to all Member States and register it with the African Union, the United Nations Organisation and such other organisations as Council may determine

IN FAITH WHEREOF, WE, HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES, HAVE SIGNED THIS SUPPLEMENTARY ACT.

DONE AT ABUJA, THIS 15TH DAY OF JUNE 2007.

IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN THE ENGLISH, FRENCH AND PORTUGUESE LANGUAGES, ALL THE THREE (3) TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.

H. E. Dr. Thomas Boni YAYI
President of the Republic of Benin,
Head of State and Government

President of the Republic of Cape Verde

Hon. Youssouf BAKAYOKO
Minister of Foreign Affairs,
For and on behalf of the President

H. E. M. Blaise COMPAORE

President of Faso, Chairman of the Authority

of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS

For and on behalf of the Presiden of the Republic of Côte-d'Ivoire

H. E. Mrs. Aja Isatou NJIE-SAIDY, Vice President and Secretary of State for Women's Affairs, For and on behalf of the President of The Gambia H. E. Mr. John Agyekum KUFUOR, Chairman of the African Union,

President of the Republic of GHANA

Hon. Abdoul Kabélé CAMARA Minister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation,

Integration in Africa and Guineans in the Exterior, For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of Guinea General Joao Bernardo VIERA, President of the Republic of Guinea Bissau. H. E. Mrs. Ellen JOHNSON-SIRLEAF President of the Republic of LIBERIA H.E. M. Moctar OUANE,
Minister of Foreign Affairs and
International Cooperation
For and on behalf of the President
of the Republic of Mali

H. E.M. Mamadou TANDJA President of the Republic of NIGER H. E. Alhaji Umary Musa YAR'ADUA, GCFR, President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

H. E. M. Andoulaye WADE
President of the Republic of Senegal

H. E. Dr. Mohamed Lamin KAMARA
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and
International Cooperation, For and on behalf
of the President of the Republic of
SIERRALEONE

H. 6. M. Faure Essozimne GNASSINGBE President of the TOGOLESE Republic