

FORTY FIRST ORDINARY SESSION OF THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT

Yamoussoukro, 29 June 2012

SUPPLEMENTARY ACT A/SA.2/06/12 ADOPTING THE ECOWAS POLICY ON SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION AND ITS PLAN OF ACTION

THE HIGH CONTRACTING PARTIES;

MINDFUL of Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended, establishing the Authority of Heads of State and Government and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of Article 27 of the said Treaty on Science and Technology;

MINDFUL of Protocol A/P3/1/03 on Education and Training

CONSIERING the importance of Science and Technology and Innovation for the economic and social development of the region

CONSIDERING the objectives of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) aimed at growth and a sustainable and equitable socioeconomic development and poverty eradication;

CONSIERING to the need to establish in the ECOWAS region, sustainable institutional and structural mechanisms in the service of common regional science, technology and innovation programmes;

ge & who who



CNSIDRING to the importance of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) in supporting all programmes aimed at sustainable and equitable socio-economic growth and poverty eradication in the region through the implementation, **inter alia**, of the ECOWAS Community Programme (ECP), ECOWAS decisions and declarations, the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD), ECOWAS Policy on Science, Technology and Innovation, (ECOPOST) and the Millennium Development Goals (MDG);

RECALLING the prime importance accorded science, technology and Innovation by the Community Development Programme as well as the need to develop the region's capacity to enable it coordinate collaboration in science, technology and innovation;

CONVINCED of the need to ensure a harmonized implementation of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) programmes and projects in the Member States;

AWARE that inequality of income between the rich and poor countries may be largely attributable to differences in the acquisition, accumulation, dissemination and utilization of Science, Technology and STI;

DESIROUS of adopting the ECOWAS Policy on Science, Technology and Innovation and its Plan of Action

HAVING SOUGHT the ECOWAS Parliament's opinion thereon;

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the Sixty-Eighth Ordinary Session of the ECOWAS Council of Ministers held in Abidjan on 11 and 12 June 2012;

HEREBY AGREE AS FOLLOWS

Article 1

the ECOWAS Policy on Science, Technology and Innovation (ECOPOST), as well as the attached Plan of Action hereto is hereby adopted.



- 3 -

Article 2

The Member State, as well as the ECOWAS Commission, shall ensure the implementation of ECOPOST and its Plan of Action.

Article 3

This Supplementary Act shall be published by the Commission the Community Official Journal within thirty (30) days of its signature by the Chairman of the Authority. It shall also be published by each Member State in its Official Gazette thirty (30) days after notification by the Commission.

Article 4

- . 1. This Supplementary Act shall enter into force once published. Consequently, the signatory Member States and the ECOWAS Institutions undertake to commence its implementation once it enters into force.
- 2. This Supplementary Act shall be appended to the Revised Treaty of which it forms an integral part..

Article 5

This Supplementary Act shall be deposited at the Commission which shall transmit certified true copies thereof to all Member States, and register it with the African Union, United Nations Organization, and all organizations designated by the Council of Ministers

IN WITNESS WHEREOF WE, HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT
OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES,
HEREBY APPEND OUR SIGNATURES
TO THIS SUPPLEMENTARY ACT

DONE AT YAMOUSSOUKRO THIS 29TH DAY OF JUNE 2012

IN A SINGLE ORIGINAL IN FRENCH, ENGLISH AND PORTUGUESE
ALL THREE (3) TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC



H. E. Dr. Thomas Boni YAYI President of the Republic of Benin H. E. Mr. Blaise COMPAORE President of Burkina Faso

H. E. Mr. Jorge Borges

Minister of Foreign Afrairs, For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of Cape Verde

H. E. Mr. Alassane OUATTARA

President of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire Chairman of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS

S. E. Mr. Ousman SONKO

Minister of Interior and NGO Affairs, For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of The Gambia

H. E. Amb. Chris KPODO

Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of Ghana

H. E. M. Edouard NIANKOYE LAMAH Minister of Foreign Affairs and Guinean in Diaspora, For and on behalf of the President

of the Republic of Guinea

H. E. Mr. Manuel Serifo NHAMA O Interim President of the Republic

of Guinea Bissau



H. E. Mrs. Ellen JOHNSON-SIRLEAF President of the Republic of Liberia H. E. Mr. Cheick Modibo DIARRA Prime Minister of the Transitional Government of the Republic of Mali

S. E. Mr. Mahamadou ISSOUFOU President of the Republic of Niger

H. E. Dr. Nurudeen MOHAMMAD

Honourable Minister of State for Foreign Affairs

For and on behalf of the President of the

Federal Republic of Nigeria

H. E. Mr. Macky SALL
President of the Republic of Senegal

H. E. Mr. Ernest Bai KOROMA
President of the Republic of Sierra Leone

H. E. Mr. Faure Essozimna GNASSINGBE President of the Togolese Republic