REGULATION C/REG. 5/7/96 RELATING TO THE HOSTING OF THE FIRST ECOWAS TOURISM AND LEISURE FAIR

THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS,

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the Revised Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of Decision C/DEC. 1/7/91 dated 3rd July, 1991 of the Council of Ministers adopting the Executive Secretariat Programme of Action for Tourism;

MINDFUL of Decision C/DEC. 2/7/91 dated 3rd July, 1991 of the Council of Ministers institutionalising the ECOWAS Tourism and Leisure Fair;

AWARE of the importance of a Tourism Fair and similar events to the development of tourism;

On the RECOMMENDATION of the 36th meeting of the Trade, Customs, Immigration, Money and Payments Commission, held in Lagos from 22nd to 24th May, 1996;

ENACTS

Article 1

The Republic of Côte d'Ivoire is hereby selected to host the First ECOWAS Tourism and Leisure Fair.

The Fair shall be organised in the first half of 1997.

The theme of the fair shall be "Enhancing Promotion of tourist Destinations in West Africa".

Article 2

There is hereby established a tripartite coordination committee comprising representatives of the ECOWAS Executive Secretariat, representatives of the host country and the consultant who prepared the study.

The committee shall be responsible for coordinating the organisation of the Fair.

The Committee may co-opt any persons or bodies with the requisite competence to assist it in the successful accomplishment of its assignment.

Article 3

The Executive Secretariat shall be responsible for the implementation of this Regulation.

Article 4

This Regulation shall be published by the Executive Secretariat in the Official Journal of the Community thirty (30) days after its signature by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers.

It shall also be published within the same timeframe in the National Gazette of each Member State.

> DONE AT ABUJA, THIS 25TH DAY OF JULY, 1996

> HON. KWAME PEPRAH CHAIRMAN, FOR COUNCIL OF MINISTERS.