# REGULATION C/REG.3/8/99 ON THE ADDITIONAL LIST OF ENTERPRISES AND PRODUCTS APPROVED TO BENEFIT FROM THE ECOWAS TRADE LIBERALISATION SCHEME

### THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS,

**MINDFUL** of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the **Revised** ECOWAS Treaty establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of the Protocol dated 5th November, 1976 defining the concept of products originating from ECOWAS Member States and its subsequent amendments acts;

MINDFUL of Decisions C/DEC 3/6/88 and C/DEC.4/7/ 92 dated 21st June, 1988 and 25th July, 1992 of the Council of Ministers, defining the procedure for approval of industrial enterprises and products under the ECOWAS Trade Liberalisation Scheme;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.6/7/92 dated 29th July, 1992 of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS on the adoption and implementation of a single trade liberalisation scheme for products originating from Member States of the Community;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.4/7/96 dated 27th July, 1996 on the cancellation of the criterion relating to the level of participation of community nationals in the equity capital of enterprises;

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the thirty-ninth meeting of the Trade, Customs, Immigration, Money and Payments Commission, held in Abuja from 17th to 19th May, 1999;

# ENACTS

#### Article 1

The Industrial enterprises and products fulfilling the ECOWAS rules of origin listed in the attached annex are approved for the benefit of preferential treatment under the ECOWAS Trade Liberalisation Scheme.

# Article 2

The Executive Secretariat shall give each enterprise concerned, an approval number which must feature on the certificate of origin and on the ECOWAS customs declaration form and inform Member States accordingly.

# Article 3

Member States and the Executive Secretariat shall take all necessary measures to ensure the implementation of this Regulation.

### Article 4

This Regulation shall be published by the Executive Secretariat in the Official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days after its signature by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers.

It shall also be published by each Member State within the same time frame in its National Gazette.

DONE AT ABUJA, THIS 20<sup>™</sup> DAY OF AUGUST, 1999.

ABDOUL HAMID S.B. TIDJANI-DOURODJAYE, CHAIRMAN, FOR COUNCIL.