REGULATION C/REG.6/06/07 GRANTING FINANCIAL SUPPORT TO THE MEMBER STATE ORGANIZING A SESSION OF THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT

THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS,

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Treaty, as amended, establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC. 12/8/97 relating to the frequency and venues of ECOWAS meetings;

CONSIDERING the need to review Decision A/ DEC.2.8/01/06 fixing amounts to be granted to support the activities of the country holding the chairmanship of ECOWAS;

RECALLING that, under Decision A/DEC.12/8/97 referred to above, the Authority meets in ordinary session twice (2) a year, one at the ECOWAS Headquarters, and the other in one of the other Member States on a rotational basis;

ACKNOWLEDGING that the organization of the sessions of the Authority entails high financial costs for the countries where they are held:

CONSIDERING the need for the Community to demonstrate its solidarity with Member States organizing sessions of the Authority and, therefore, assist in alleviating the financial burden of such States;

DESIROUS, therefore, of granting financial support to any Member State organizing sessions of the Authority;

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the first meeting of the Administration and Finance Committee, held in Abuja from 21 to 25 May 2007;

ENACTS

Article 1

- A financial support amounting to sixty six thousand six hundred units of account (UA 66.600) is hereby granted to any Member State organizing a session of the Authority.
- The support referred to in paragraph 1 of this article is granted for the organization of each session.

Article 2

When the session of the Authority is organized by the Member State holding the chairmanship of the Authority, the State concerned shall be entitled to both the amounts granted to support its activities as current Chairman and the financial package provided under this Regulation.

Article 3

This Regulation shall be published in the Official Journal of the Community by the ECOWAS Commission within thirty (30) days of its signature by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers.

It shall also be published within the same time frame in the National Gazette of each Member State.

DONE AT OUAGADOUGOU, THIS 5TH DAY OF JUNE 2007



CHAIRMAN, FOR THE COUNCIL.