REGULATION C/REG.7/06/07 APPROVING THE ORGANISATIONAL STRUCTURE OF THE COMMISSION OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES

THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS.

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its compositions and functions;

MINDFUL of Decision A/QEC, 16/01/06 transforming the Executive Secretariat into a Commission;

BEARING IN MIND the directive contained in the Final Communique issued at the twenty-eighth session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government, that the ECOWAS Executive Secretariat should be transformed with a view to adapting it to the international environment and to making it more effective in the accomplishment of its regional integration assignment.

CONVINCED that the Commission's productivity and efficiency will benefit from a clear definition of the technical areas that will be under the management of its members:

AWARE of the need to endow the Commission with functional structures that will allow for clear division of technical assignments and a definition of working relations with a view to avoid conflicts of interest and strengthen the Community spirit.

DETERMINED to adopt all necessary measures for the purpose of attaining the aforementioned objectives;

HAVING CONSIDERED THE PROPOSALS of the extraordinary meeting of the Administration and Finance Commission (AFC), held in Abuja from 20 to 22 March 2006.

RECALLING that based on the above-stated proposal by the AFC. Council adopted an organogram for the ECOWAS Commission under Regulation C/REG.1/06/06 in June 2006;

ALSO RECALLING that Council, at its fifty seventh Session in December 2006 at Ouagadougou, set up an ad hoc committee which was tasked with the responsibility of correcting errors identified in the organogram referred to in the preceding paragraph;

HAVING considered the report from the Adhoc Committee on the tasks assigned to it as well as a finalized organogram for the ECOWAS Commission:.

DESIROUS therefore of formally adopting the finalized organogram for the continued and efficient functioning of the Commission.

ENACTS

Article 1

The provisions of this Regulation abrogate and render null & void the provisions contained under Article 5 of Regulation C/REG.1/06/06 relating to the organizational structure of the ECOWAS Commission as well as the organogram attached to the said Regulation C/REG, 1/06/06.

Article 2

The organogram of the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States, as attached hereto, is hereby approved.

Article 3

- The Commissioners shall be under the authority of the President of the Commission and shall report to the President through the Vice-president.
- In addition to their other responsibilities as provided by the relevant provisions of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended, the President and the Vice-president shall oversee the following departments, offices and units
 - a) The President
 - Office of the Director of Cabinet;
 - Department of Legal Affairs.
 - iii. Department of Communications:
 - Department of External Relations.
 - b) The Vice President
 - Community Computer Centre:
 - ii. Strategic Planning Unit;
 - iii. Monitoring and Evaluation Unit;
 - iv. Relations with other ECOWAS Institutions Unit.
- Other Commissioners shall be responsible for the following technical areas and also oversee the following departments and structures.

- a) Commissioner for Administration and Finance;
 - Department of General Administration;
 - ii. Department of Human Resources;
 - iii. Department of Conference;
 - iv. Department of Finance.
- b) Commissioner for Agriculture, Environment and Water Resources;
 - Department of Agriculture and Rural Development;
 - ii. Department of Environment and Water Resources;
 - iii. The Water Resources Integrated Management Unit in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.
- c) Commissioner for Human Development and Gender;
 - Department of Education, Culture, Science and Technology;
 - Department of Gender Development, Sports, Civil Society, Employment and Drug control;
 - iii. Department of Humanitarian and Social Affairs;
 - iv. ECOWAS Gender Development Centre in Dakar, Senegal;
 - Youth and Sports Development Centre in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.
- d) Commissioner for Infrastructure:
 - Department of Transport and Telecommunications;
 - ii. Department of Energy.
- e) Commissioner for Macroeconomic Policies:
 - Department of Multilateral Surveillance;
 - Department of Research and Statistics;
 - Private Sector Department.
- f) Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security:
 - Department of Political Affairs;
 - Early Warning Department;
 - Department of Peacekeeping Operations and Regional Security.

- g) Commissioner for Trade, Customs, Industry, Free Movement of persons and Goods:
 - Department of Trade, Customs and Tourism;
 - Department of Free Movement of Persons and Goods;
 - Department of Industry and Mines.

Article 4

The President of the Commission shall put in place the structure of the Commission as approved by this Regulation. However, the President may recommend to Council for approval, a reorganisation of the departments referred to in Article 3 above, or the creation of new ones, when this is deemed necessary.

Article 5

This Regulation shall be published by the Commission in the official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days of its signature by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers. It shall also be published by each Member State in its National Gazette within the same lime frame.

DONE AT QUAGADOUGOU, THIS 5TH DAY OF JUNE 2007



CHAIRMAN, FOR THE COUNCIL.