REGULATION C/REQ.06/05/08 ADOPTING THE STRATEGIC PLAN 2007-2015 OF THE PERMANENT COORDINATION AND FOLLOW-UP FRAMEWORK FOR INTEGRATED WATER RESOURCES MANAGEMENT (IWRM) IN WEST AFRICA

THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS,

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended, establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.12/12/00 of 16 December 2000 adopting the Regional Action Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa (RAP/IWRM/WA);

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.5/12/01 of 21 December 2001 setting up the Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa.

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.6/12/2001 of 21 December 2001 amending Decision A/DEC.12/12/00 of 16 December 2000 adopting the Regional Action Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa (RAP/IWRM/WA);

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.4/01/06 of 12 January 2006 adopting the Statutes of the Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa and the rules and regulations of the constituent organs;

CONSIDERING that the plan which is presented replaces back, in a consolidated strategic framework, the IWRM Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework activities in West Africa based on projects envisaged in the Regional Action Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa (RAP/IWRM/WA);

CONSIDERING that the aforementioned plan is in keeping with the ECOWAS Strategic Plan 2007-2010.

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the 2nd session of the IWRM Ministerial Follow-up Committee in West Africa held in Ouagadougou, on 15 November 2007

ENACTS

Article 1

The Strategic Plan of the IWRM Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework in West Africa for 2007-2015 is adopted

Article 2

This Regulation shall be published by the President of the Commission in the Official journal of the Community within thirty (30) days following its signature by the Chairperson of the Council of Ministers. It will also be published by each Member State in its national gazette within the same time-limits.

DONE AT ABUJA, THIS 18TH DAY OF MAY 2008.

H.E MRS. MINATA SAMATE CESSOUMA

CHAIRPERSON, FOR COUNCIL