REGULATION C/REQ.7/05/08 CHANGING THE NAME OF THE WATER RESOURCES COORDINATION UNIT AND OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND WATER RESOURCES OF THE COMMISSION

THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS

MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended, establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its composition and functions:

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.12/12/00 of 16 December 2000 adopting the Regional Action Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa (RAP/IWRM/WA);

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.5/12/01 of 21 December 2001 setting up the Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa.

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.6/12/2001 of 21st December, 2001 amending Decision A/DEC.12/12/00 of 16th December 2000 adopting the Regional Action Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa (RAP/IWRM/WA);

MINDFUL of Decision A/DEC.4/01/06 of 12 January 2006 adopting the Statutes of the Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework for Integrated Water Resources Management in West Africa and the rules and regulations of the constituent organs;

BEARING in mind the commitments embodied in the Ouagadougou Declaration adopted by the West African Conference on integrated water resources management, which led to the establishment of a Permanent Coordination and Follow-up Framework of Integrated Water Resources Management made up of a Ministerial Follow-up Committee assisted by an Experts Technical Committee and an IWRM Coordination Unit, pursuant to Decision A/DEC. 5/12/01 referred to above:

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the 2nd Session of the IWRM Ministerial Follow-up Committee in West Africa held in Ouagadougou, on 15 November 2007.

ENACTS

Article 1

The Water Resources Coordination Unit shall be named "Water Resources Coordination Centre", in abbreviated form "WRCC"

Article 2

The Department of Environment and Water Resources under the ECOWAS Commission shall be named Department of Environment.

Article 3

The expressions "Water Resources Coordination Unit" and "Department of Environment and Water Resources" shall be replaced, wherever they appear in the legal instruments regulating the Community, by "Water Resources Coordination Centre" and "Department of Environment" respectively.

Article 4

This Regulation shall be published by the President of the Commission in the Official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days following its signature by the Chairperson of the Council of Ministers. It shall also be published by each Member State in its national gazette within the same time frame.

DONE AT ABUJA, THIS 18TH DAY OF MAY 2008.

H.E MRS. MINATA SAMATÉ CESSOUMA

CHAIRPERSON FOR COUNCIL