GOVERNMENT NOTICE NO. 227 published on 19/07/2013

THE NATIONAL PARKS ACT (CAP.282 R.E 2002)

PROCLAMATION

(Made under section 3)

DECLARATION OF SAANANE ISLAND NATIONAL PARK

In the exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 3 of the National Parks Act, and with the consent of the National Assembly Resolution passed on the 31st day of October, 2012, I JAKAYA MRISHO KIKWETE, President of the United Republic of Tanzania, do hereby declare the area of land described in the Schedule hereto to be a National Park for the purposes of the said Act.

SCHEDULE

SAANANE ISLAND NATIONAL PARK

All that area of land in Nyamagana District, Mwanza City as shown on the Registered Plan No. 65048, deposited with the Director of Surveys and Mappings in Dar es Salaam, and more particularly defined as follows–

Boundaries: Commencing at buoy No. 1 (9719529.97 N, 488118.27 E) anchored at point northeast of Saanane Island; thence following a south-westerly direction through buoy No. 2 (9719009.89 N, 488067.40 E), buoy No. 3 (9718505.95 N, 488003.83 E), buoy No. 4 (9718011.09 N, 487940.27 E) to buoy No. 5 (9717620.14 N, 487897.25 E); thence in a westerly direction to buoy No. 6 (9717620.14 N, 487713.02 E); thence following a south-westerly direction through buoy No. 7 (9717512.89 N, 487300.51 E) to buoy No. 8 (9717399.04 N, 486879.39 E); thence in a north-west direction to buoy No. 9 (9717836.63 N, 486644.50 E); from here the boundary turns in a north-eastern direction through buoy No. 10 (9718306.19 N, 486846.13 E), buoy No. 11 (9718782.89 N, 487059.51 E), buoy No. 12 (9719309.54 N, 487291.05 E) to buoy No. 13 (9719771.23 N, 487496.55 E) situated north – west of Saanane Island; thence in an easterly direction to buoy No. 14 (9719808.08 N, 487763.68 E); thence in a south-easterly direction to buoy No. 15 (9719729.00 N, 487965.54 E) situated at the north-east tip of Saanane Island; thence in a south-east direction to buoy No. 16 (9719656.08 N, 488072.26 E); thence to buoy No. 1, point of commencement.

Given under my hand and the public Seal at Dar es Salaam this 20th Day of June, 2013.

JAKAYA MRISHO KIKWETE President