GOVERNMENT OF ZAMBIA

STATUTORY INSTRUMENT No. 36 OF 1995

The Electoral Act (Act No. 2 of 1991)

The Electoral (General) Regulations, 1991 (S.I. No. 108 of 1991)

The National Assembly By-Elections (No. 031 Masaiti Constituency, and No. 041 Chipangali Constituency) (Elections Dates and Times of Poll) Order, 1995

WHEREAS in pursuance of regulation 7 of the Electoral (General) Regulations, 1991, the Speaker of the National Assembly has informed the President and the Commission of the vacancies that have occurred in the elected membership of the National Assembly in respect of—

- (a) Masaiti Constituency by reason of the death of Member of Parliament of Masaiti Constituency which occurred on the 1st January, 1995; and
- (b) Chipangali Constituency by reason of the resignation from the United National Independence Party to the Movement for Multi Party Democracy Party of Mr Gershom Nkhoma, Member of Parliament for Chipangali Constituency which occurred on the 4th of December, 1994.

Now THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers contained in regulation 8 of the said Regulations, the following Order is hereby made:

1. This Order may be cited as the National Assembly By-Elections (No. 031 Masaiti Constituency and No. 041 Chipangali Constituency) (Elections Dates and Times of Poll) Order, 1995.

Title

2. Nomination for elections in No. 031, Masaiti Constituency and No. 041, Chipangali Constituency may be lodged with the Returning Officer on Thursday, 9th February, 1995, between 0900 hours to 1500 hours.

Nomination for elections

Poll at elections

3. The Polls in No. 031 Masaiti Constituency and No. 041 Chipangali Constituency shall be taken on Tuesday, 28th February, 1995, between 0600 hours to 1800 hours:

Provided that no such Polls shall be taken in the Constituencies if only one candidate has been validly nominated for the election.

Made by the Electoral Commission at Lusaka this 6th day of March, 1995.

HON. JUSTICE W. M. MUZYAMBA,

Chairman

LUSAKA 10th March, 1995 [EO.101/5/2, CONF.]

HON. JUSTICE B. M. BWALYA,

Member

Hon. (Mrs.) Justice I. Mambilima,

Member