GOVERNMENT OF ZAMBIA

STATUTORY INSTRUMENT No. 28 of 2013

The Provincial and District Boundaries Act (Laws, Volume 16, Cap. 286)

The Provincial and District Boundaries (Division) (Amendment) Order, 2013

IN EXERCISE of the powers contained in section *two* of the Provincial and District Boundaries Act, the following Order is hereby made:

1. This Order may be cited as the Provincial and District Boundaries (Division) (Amendment) Order, 2013, and shall be read as one with the Provincial and District Boundaries (Division) Order, 1996, in this Order referred to as the principal Order.

Title

S. I. No. 106 of 1996

The First Schedule to the Principal Order is amended—

 (a) by the insertion, under Luapula Province, in the second column, of the following District:

Amendment of First Schedule

The Mwansabombwe District; and

(b) by the insertion, under Lusaka Province, in the second column, of the following Districts:

The Rufunsa District; and The Shibuyunji District.

3. The Second Schedule to the principal Order is amended—

(a) under Luapula Province, by the insertion, in the appropriate place, of the boundary description of Mwansabombwe District set out in the Appendix; and

Amendment of Second Schedule

(c) under Lusaka Province, by the insertion, in the appropriate place, of the boundary description of Rufunsa District and Shibuyunji District set out in the Appendix.

SCHEDULE (Regulation 3)

BOUNDARY NARRATIVE DESCRIPTION

MWANSABOMBWE DISTRICT

Starting at a confluence of Ng'ona and the Luapula Rivers, the boundary runs in the northerly direction along Luapula River until it meets Kawambwa-Nchelenge administrative boundary thence it continues along Kawambwa-Nchelenge administrative boundary in the easterly direction up to a point where it leaves the Kawambwa-Nchelenge boundary; thence the boundary runs in the south easterly direction for approximately 10km up to a point where it meets Ng'ona Stream and continues along Ng'ona Stream up to Ntumbacushi Falls; thence it runs in southerly direction along Muchinga Escarpment for approximately 29km up to a point where it meets Kawambwa-Mwense administrative boundary, thence it follows Kawambwa-Mwense administrative boundary in the southerly direction for 10km up to the source of Mununshi Stream; thence it follows Mununshi Stream in a westerly direction up to its confluence with the Luapula River (Zambia-DRC international boundary); thence the boundary runs along Luapula River downstream up to its confluenced with Ng'ona River, the point of starting.

RUFUNSA DISTRICT

Starting at the source of Nyangwena River on the Chibombo/Chongwe administrative boundary, the boundary runs in an easterly direction for 7km: thence in a north-easterly direction along the same boundary for 21km; thence in an easterly direction for 3km along the same boundary up to the point it touches the Mkushi/Chongwe district administrative boundary; thence in an easterly direction along the same boundary to a point where Mwapula River touches the same boundary; thence in a south-easterly direction for 17.5km; thence in an easterly direction for 15km along the same boundary; thence in a northerly direction for 17.5km up the confluence of Lusemfwa River and Shindabwe Stream; thence in an easterly direction along Lusemfwa River up to its confluence with Luangwa River; thence downstream Luangwa River up to its confluence with Mulambwa Stream; thence up stream Mulambwa Stream up to a point it touches the Chongwe/Luangwa district administrative boundary; thence in a southeasterly direction along the same boundary up to the point it touches Musangashi River; thence proceeds in a south-westerly direction along the Luangwa/Chongwe district administrative boundary up to a point it touches Chongwe River; thence up stream Chongwe River up to its confluence with Nyangwena River; thence up stream Nyangwena River up to is source on the Chibombo/Chongwe district administrative boundary, the point of starting.

SHIBUYUNJI DISTRICT

Starting at a point where the Blue Lagoon boundary meets Lubwato River at Katambo Fishing Camp on the Mumbwa-Kafue administrative boundary; thence the boundary proceeds in the easterly direction along the Kafue River up to Nakaiba Hills and proceeds along the Kafue river in the South-easterly direction and easterly along the Mumbwa/Mazabuka district administrative boundary up to a point where Mwembezhi River meets the Kafue River; thence the boundary proceeds in the northerly direction along the Mumbwa/Lusaka district administrative boundary through Kapili Kamamvwa Hill and Sanje Hill and continues on the northerly direction through Kanjombi Hill and Changula Hill up

to Makombwe Stream; thence it joins the Mwembezhi River; thence the boundary proceeds in the westerly direction following the Makombwe Stream up to where it joins the Mwembezhi River; thence the boundary proceeds in the westerly direction along the Mumbwa/Chibombo district administrative boundary through Mashili Dam up to Kabile Stream; thence the boundary follows the northerly direction following the Kabile Stream crossing the Lusaka/Mongu Road until a point where it runs along the westerly boundary of Kawena Forest and continues following the western boundary of the Kawena Forest up to Namakolongo Stream; thence the boundary proceeds in the south-westerly direction of the Kawena Forest Reserve for 7.5km; thence direction continues in south-easterly direction through west of Lutondo Basic School; thence the boundary proceeds in the southerly direction crossing the old Mongu Road in the easterly direction up to a point 9km on the Mongu-Lusaka Road; thence the boundary turns in the southerly direction passing through a point 1.5km east of Makuyu Aboombe Basic School up to Blue Lagoon Road; thence the boundary proceeds in the easterly direction for approximately 1.5km and turns in the southerly direction up to Lubwato River, the point of starting.

MICHAEL C. SATA,

President

Lusaka 7th March, 2013 [MLGH.19/8/3]