STATUTORY INSTRUMENT NO. 71 OF 2020

The Electoral Process Act, 2016 (Act No. 35 of 2016)

The Electoral Process (General) Regulations, 2016

The National Assembly By-Elections (Mwansabombwe Constituency No. 65 and Lukashya Constituency No. 98) (Election Date and Time of Poll) Order, 2020

WHEREAS in pursuance of Article 72(8) of the Constitution, the Cap. 1 Speaker of the National Assembly has informed the Electoral Commission of Zambia of the vacancies in respect of Mwansabombwe Constituency No. 65 by reason of death of Honourable Rodgers Mwewa, Member of Parliament for Mwansabombwe and Lukashya Constituency No. 98 by reason of death of Honourable Mwenya Munkonge, Member of Parliament for Lukashya Constituency, and the declaration by the Speaker of the National Assembly of the vacancies in respect of Mwansabombwe and Lukashya Constituencies.

Now THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers contained in Article 57(3) of the Constitution and Regulation 15(1) of the Electoral Cap. 1 Process (General) Regulations, 2016, the following Order is made:

1. This Order may be cited as the National Assembly By-Election (Mwansabombwe Constituency No. 65 and Lukashya Constituency No. 98) (Election Date and Time Poll) Order, 2020.

2. A Candidate for election as a Member of Parliament for Mwansabombwe Constituency No. 65 and Lukashya Constituency No. 98 shall be lodged with the Returning Officer on Thursday, 27th August, 2020, between 0900 hours and 1500 hours.

3. The campaign period shall commence on Thursday, 27th Campaign Period Period

Copies of this Statutory Instrument can be obtained from the Government Printer, P.O. Box 30136, 10101, Lusaka, Price K4.00 each Election date and time of poll T

4. (1) The polls for the election of a Member of Parliament in the Constituencies referred to in paragraph 2 shall be taken on Thursday, 17th September, 2020 between 0600 hours and 1800 hours.

(2) A poll shall not be taken in a Constituency if only one candidate is validly nominated.

Made by the Electoral Commission of Zambia at Lusaka this 18th day of August, 2020.

JUSTICE E. E. CHULU, Chairperson

> E. J. SIKAZWE, Member

A. D. SIMWINGA, Member

LUSAKA 18th August, 2020 [EC.101/5/2 CONF.]